WinSync Move Action


Overview

When DS does the DirSync search to find AD entries to sync, it will search the entire suffix, not just the specified subtree, because it needs to look for deleted entries and entries that have been moved out of scope. For example, if you have

DS subtree: ou=People,dc=example,dc=com
AD subtree: cn=Users,dc=example,dc=com

winsync will search under dc=example,dc=com not just cn=Users,dc=example,dc=com. This means that winsync will find entries that are out of scope of the subtree in the sync agreement.

Windows Sync tries to link AD entries with DS entries by username (AD samaccountname/DS uid) or by the group name (AD samaccountname/DS cn).

In earlier versions of 389 (1.2.6 and earlier), when winsync encountered an AD entry that was out of scope, it would just ignore it. However, when winsync was enhanced to add support for entry move and subtree rename, winsync assumed that AD entries out of scope were moved out of scope, and should therefore delete the corresponding DS entry, even if the entries had not previously been in sync.

With 1.2.11, this is behavior is now configurable with the new winSyncMoveAction attribute in the windows sync agreement entry.

Configuration

dn: cn=name of sync agreement,cn=replica,cn="your suffix",cn=mapping tree,cn=config    
objectclass: nsDSWindowsReplicationAgreement    
winSyncMoveAction: none    

By default, the action is none. This means that winsync will do nothing when it finds and out of scope entry.

winSyncMoveAction: delete    

This is the 1.2.6 and later behavior. If winsync finds an out of scope AD entry, it will delete the corresponding DS entry (corresponding by name/uid as above), even if it has never been in sync.

winSyncMoveAction: unsync    

This is a new behavior. Some AD admins want “move this entry to another container” to mean “I don’t want to sync this attribute any more”. The unsync option does this. If winsync finds an out of scope AD entry, it will remove the ntUser or ntGroup objectclass and any sync related attributes from the corresponding DS entry. This means that changes to the DS entry will no longer be in sync with the AD entry, and vice versa. If at some later point you want the entries to be in sync once again, just move the entry back to the sync subtree.

Attempting to set winSyncMoveAction to any value other than none, delete, or unsync will cause an error and the value will be set to none.

Implementation Details

The code in windows_process_dirsync_entry(), beginning at the else case of if (is_subject_of_agreement_remote(e,prp->agmt)). Because of the name/uid correspondence, map_entry_dn_inbound() may create a valid existing DS DN from the AD entry. The code looks at windows_private_get_move_action() to decide what to do at this point.

Consistency Issues

You almost never want to delete a DS entry without a corresponding AD entry deletion, so don’t use delete unless you absolutely must for backwards compatibility issues with earlier versions of 389. unsync will also cause problems if you unsync the entry then later delete it - the DS entry will still exist.

Last modified on 2 February 2024